Grouping accounts

This topic describes how to group partner or customer accounts in Admin Center.

You can create groups to organize partner and/or customer accounts. Groups can act as an intermediate level between parent and child organizations.

After you create a group, you can assign accounts to the group. You can also move accounts between groups and remove accounts from groups.

Creating a new group

To create a new group:

  1. Navigate to a Partners or Customers view, depending on which type of group you want to create.
  2. Click ADD GROUP.
  3. Specify the account information in the view that appears ( Add new partner group view or Add new customer group view).
    Tip Customer groups have the additional benefit of being able to define a service plan at the group level. When you create a service plan for a customer group, the usage data (displayed in the Account view) reflects the combined usage of all the member accounts of the group. This makes it easier to identify groups that are approaching or exceeding usage expectations. You can see usage information about each individual account in the Usage summary view.

    After you click SAVE & CLOSE, the new group appears in the list.

Note You must activate the account before users can log in and use the system.

Assigning accounts to a group

To assign accounts to a group:

  1. Navigate to a Partners or Customers view.
  2. For each account that you want to assign to a group, click , select Group and use the dialog that appears to assign the customer to a group.

    After you click OK, the customer is assigned to the group.

Moving an account to another group

To move an account from one group to another group:

  1. Navigate to the Partners or Customers view that contains the customer account that you want to move. Note that accounts which are already in a group reside under the parent group in the administration tree view.
  2. On the row of the account that you want to move, click , select Move and use the dialog that appears to assign the account to a group.

    After you click OK, the account is assigned to the group.

Ungrouping an account

To remove an account from a group:

  1. Navigate to the Partners or Customers view that contains the account that you want to ungroup. Note that accounts which are already in a group reside under the parent group in the administration tree view.
  2. On the row of the account that you want to ungroup, click and select Ungroup.
  3. Click Yes in the dialog that appears to confirm that you want to move the customer from current group to the partner level.