Creating a workflow step with a manually-selected user

When you create a workflow, you can specify steps with manually selected users. This means that when a user approves or corrects an invoice in a workflow step that precedes a step with a manually-selected user, the user is prompted to select which user handles the invoice next.

Example

Assume you use the settings below.


The Workflow configuration dialog

After Jennifer Smith approves an invoice, she is prompted to select the next user to handle the invoice.


Select the next user

Users that are to be selected manually also appear in the Start workflow dialog. You can specify the user when you start the workflow, or you can let the preceding user in the workflow choose the user during approval.

Figure 1. In this example, Ben Martin will be prompted to select the next user in the workflow after he approves the invoice.